Documents to download

Members of the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority (IPSA) are appointed in accordance with the Parliamentary Standards Act 2009. It provides for IPSA to have a chair and four other members. All are appointed by His Majesty on an address of the House of Commons. They are selected by the Speaker of the House of Commons, with the agreement of the Speaker’s Committee on the IPSA, following a fair and open competition.

On 14 November 2022, the Speaker’s Committee on IPSA issued a report recommending that William Lifford be re-appointed for a further three years (PDF). His current term is due to end on 10 January 2023.

A motion to re-appoint William Lifford , until 10 January 2026, was agreed by the House of Commons on 28 November 2022.

The terms and qualifications of all the members of the IPSA Board are:

  • Richard Lloyd, Chair. He was appointed to the Board from 1 December 2018, for five years. He became interim Chair, on 11 October 2019, following the resignation of Ruth Evans. He remained interim Chair until his appointment as Chair, for five years, from 1 September 2021.
  • William Lifford, auditor member, from 11 January 2018 for five years, and from 11 January 2023 to 10 January 2026 .
  • Sir Robert Owen, former holder of a high judicial office, 1 January 2016-31 December 2023.
  • Helen Jones, former Member of Parliament, from 1 January 2020-31 December 2025.
  • Lea Paterson, from 14 March 2022, for five years.

Documents to download

Related posts